Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new to M715

Default new to M715

Hi all, I am very new to the M715. I had never even seen one until 2 weeks ago. I have been looking for some info on the one I obtained. I tried to read some old posts and I am sure you are tired of answering the same old questions but here goes.
    I found the numbers on the hood and tailgate. None on the bumpers.
    Is it possible to obtain the bumper numbers/letters? I want to put the decals and numbers back on because they have been sanded off.

What info could you tell me about these numbers for my truck?

Hood/tailgate 3F 6495
    Delivered 7-67
    Ser# 13846
    Model 3521
    Stock# 23209216365

Any info would be appreciated. I love this truck and want to restore it to its original glory.
    Thanks

I'm sure Beast and k8icu will be along shortly to fill you in on more than you could every possibly want to know about the numbers!

I just popped in here to welcome you aboard!
    -- Tim Taylor

Meanwhile, this short thread will go a long way toward answering your questions: Hood and Tail gate markings...
    -- Tim Taylor

Thanks Binford. I am really excited about this truck. I wish; like most, I could know every detail about it's history.

Once the bumper markings are gone, that's it. I found several sets of markings on mine (even matching ones on the doors), but never could fully understand what specific branch the truck was used.

As for the hood reg. number, you are only 99 trucks from mine roughly. Remember, though, there might have been other trucks in there, like a Ford flatbed dually or whatever in the 3F class. My serial is 13962, so a difference of 116 trucks there. So make of it as you wish.

Welcome to the group.

Scott

Rhoadesville, Virginia (five miles from no place)

Welcome aboard!

The hood number was assigned to the truck from the day it was sent out of Toledo. It stays with the truck its entire life.