Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: m715 Driveability?

Default m715 Driveability?

Hi everyone, I am new to this sight but not new to Jeeps or offroading. There is a lot of great info on this sight. I am purchasing a M-715 that I have found locally and have couple of quick questions regarding the drivability of it on the street. It is my understanding that the NP200 transfer case is the main reason for the lack of drivability is this correct? I also realize that the low gears in the axles play into that as well but would a simple transfer case swap (np 205 divorced) and some new axles (since the stock one aren't worth putting money into) with higher gears (i.e.4:56 or 4:10). Would this make it a good driver with stock motor and trans? I am asking this because the motor runs really well and I don't see a need to change it at this time. I realize it wouldn't set any land speed records but I was hoping for 60-65 MPH for long extended trips of 6-10 hours of driving.
    I hope that wasn't too long winded but I realize there is a lot of knowledge on this sight and I am hoping you dont mind if I pick of few of your brains for some useful info.

Thanks, Tim

A stock truck in good shape will run 60 pretty easy. You might swap in a pair of 4.56 gear sets for long range driving, but remember this is a military vehicle. By the time you mod everything to make it comfy, it's really not the same truck. And not all NP 200 are plagued by heat and noise issues.

My free advice, try it in the stock configuration first, then modify as required.

Quote Originally Posted by Tim338 View Post
    Would this make it a good driver with stock motor and trans?
    The 230 motor and T98 transmission are very good components. The minor issue with the motor is that it can be a bit expensive to maintain, as some parts are difficult to acquire.