Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: My '715 has arrived - I'm not a happy trooper!

Default My '715 has arrived - I'm not a happy trooper!

Bought the truck sight unseen except for pictures and many phone calls to answer questions. I had it trucked to me. Amoung other things that are not as described, the truck has been converted to 12 volt. I was promised it was 24 volt. Yes, it has two batteries but they are connected in parallel and the starter, alternator, and ignition components are all 12 volt as well as the lamps. Except for the alternator, they are civilian parts. Lots of "jury" rigged wiring and switches however looks like all the original wiring is still there, just disconnected. Military light switch disconnected with headlamps on a toggle switch.

Wow! Where do I get a 24 volt starter, starter switch, alternator, lamps, ignition coil, etc.? Plus panel guages and sender units? I'm an electrical engineer so no problems there, just since I am new to this truck, don't know where to get parts yet. At least I have the TM wiring diagrams (poor) and a very nice CAD drawing of the wiring.

As someone said, "Pity the bank account of M-715 Owners!"

Ron

ck the 'links' on here at the page header to find some surplus dealers watch e-bay search m715 (dont hypenate it) there has been a starter on there just recently may still be on. the starter switch is located on the floor by the trans pan, unless you mean the ignition switch it on the dash and its a military standard part all mil veh's used the same one.
    68 M-715 MVPA #2710