Page 1 of 13 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: M715 Hauler / Crawler Build

Default M715 Hauler / Crawler Build

I picked up a 68' M715 that’s lived most of its life in Chico, Ca. I have been driving past this thing for the last 10 years and finally decided to stop by and see if it was for sale. Long story short … I brought her home. I am trying to stick with the 1 ton hauler / crawler theme and keep it pretty junk yard / budget friendly. It's pretty much rust free so I don’t plan on doing any body work.

Build plans are as follows (subject to change at any time):
    454 BBC
    SM465
    NP205
    CUCV Dana 60 SOA
    Undecided on rear axle (14 bolt, Dana 60, Dana 70)
    Hydro assist steering
    40 x 13.5 x 17 (Goodyear MTRs, Toyo MTs, BFG KM2s)
    Roll cage
    And a bunch of other stuff

Towing

Resting Place

Bought this with a bunch of related parts

Rebuilt outers

Tear down

Stock leaf springs over axle mockup

Mockup 1

Mockup 2

More pics

Flex

Swing Shackle Frame Eye

Front Spring Hanger 1

Front Spring Hanger 2

Front Spring Hanger 3

More more more !!!!

454 BBC has been rebuilt twice so its .060" over now. It was pulled from a welding truck 15 years ago just after a fresh rebuild because it wasn't running well. I just pulled the valve cover to find the lock nut on the rocker arm had backed off and the rocker popped off the push rod for an intake valve. Hopefully that’s it. We'll see as I get further into it.

Block

Block 2

Clutch and Flywheel

Peanut port heads

Aluminum Intake and 600 cfm Holley carb

Nice build so far. Keep the pics coming.

BTW, here's your truck at the GSA auction:

[IMG][/IMG]

Scott
    '67 M715 '67 M725 '69 M726 (x2)

"it's cheap and you get all you can shove in your pie-hole" --Kozmo 12-10-13

Truck looks great. Did you put the new differential cover and high steer on the axle or did you buy it that way? What gearing will you run?