Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hood Latch Questions

Question Hood Latch Questions

Hi Everyone, I’m new to the Zone, I just bought an M715 #10777 and have dived into the rabbit hole of my new project.

Can anyone share pictures of their front hood area hold down mechanisms? The parts manuals don’t describe this in great detail, but I know I am missing the hold down bolt attached to the front which engages the mechanism under the hood, as well as parts from the mechanism part attached to the hood. Right now all I have are side latches and my hood is flapping like crazy.

Any recommendations for that bolt size would be appreciated too.

I’ve read some posts on using FSJ replacement mechanism, it looks like I can do that, I just need to know how that mechanism engages the body.

Thanks everyone!

-Mike

There aren't any. A stock M715 just used the two spring loaded latches at the fenders with nothing in the middle. That is why most of us have "the crack" in the middle of our hoods. Which happens because the hood flexes a lot when driving. Especially when driving with or against a strong wind and a semi truck comes the other way at speed. That hood will jump all over then.

Yes, some people have used stock FSJ latches or at least the part that goes across the front of the hood underneath to truss it up some.
    Remember if you didn't build it you can't call it yours.

6.2 powered M715, 5 M1009's, M416, 2 M101's, 2 M105's, 3 M35's, M1007 6.5 turbo Suburban project called Cowdog.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCz...HGkBCfhXZ5iuaw

Thanks Barrman. Not to press, but can you make sense of Figure 105 in the 34_all manual (pg 234) where parts 2 through 4 mention “hood latch bolt”? It looks like it’s in a spot that lines up with the catch would be under the hood

My truck must have been modified in its past, or have an old FSJ hood, as I see a portion of the bracket under my hood.