Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rear Main Seal

Default Rear Main Seal

Can the rear main be replaced without pulling the engine? The '34 manual doesn't tell much as it assumes you are rebuilding the engine and it is out of the truck. Some mechanic friends tell me there is a tool to pull the old seals out but reading the '34 it mentions 'cement' which tells me the seals are glued in there.

I am NOT a mechanic but in the old days I have rebuilt engines out of necessity, (no money and I had to get to school!) so not afraid of trying anything.

I do leak oil from there but not serious. Maybe better to let it alone?

I changed mine in the truck.

The only thing cemented should be the oil pan seal which is on the outside of the filler block, not on the inside where the rear main seal is...it is a seperate rubber piece

Pull the pan and you can pull the filler block at the rear that has the lower half of the seal in it.

The upper half may move when pushed from one end or it may not. If it doesnt want to, you need to get something softer than the crank...a brass drift works...a nice piece of wood works too...drive one end of the seal so the other ends sticks out and you can remove it. Make sure you clean the seal groove out as best as you can.

To install the upper part, take a piece of good string and guide it up and over the crankshaft through the upper seals groove...tieing it to a long bundle tie or a couple of twist ties hooked together will get you there...then tie a slip knot near one end of the upper half of the seal. pull the string from the other side of the crank from the seal and guide the upper seal half into place.

One tip on the seal...line up the seal halve ends so they are NOT in line with the filler block split line. I put mine so the seal was canted about ½ inch to one side.