Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Turn signal switch issues

Default Turn signal switch issues

So while looking into my brake light issue I took the turn signal switch apart and found problems.

Inside there are 16 prongs, 2 rows on top of 4 each and a mirror of that on the bottom. I get that when you flip the switch certain prongs are pushed together and others move apart to open/close circuits.

My problem is that on the top row, the upper prong closest to the base has melted into the plastic rod that it pushes into with the switch in a certain (I think neutral) position. And on the bottom row have a very similar situation but with 2 prongs.

I was able to break all of them free but now how do I go about fixing the plastic rods? And maybe a better question, Why would this happen? I suspect a short causing too much current flow and therefor the prongs overheated and melted their way into the plastic....

But I am less of an electrician than I am a mechanic.

Do I/should I just replace the whole switch?

I will try to take a pic because the wordy description is confusing me.

Here is a picture (I hope).

And one with it apart.

I have seen the insids of 4 seperate 3 lever light switches...and each one is very different from the others.

There is nowhere to get pieces to repair the insides...that I have heard of anyway.

I would get a new one...they are common and still used on new trucks.