Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Transfer Case performance

Default Transfer Case performance

I'm still learning my way around my M715 and I'm unsure of what to expect from the High and Low range of the transfer case. I've correctly adjusted the travel on the lever arms for both Hi-Lo and 2W-4W drive so that I can shift between selections. I've verified that I can switch between 2W and 4W, but it seems like I'm in low range all the time. I top out at about 40MPH in 4th, transfer case whining hard. If I back off to 35, it seems that I've reached the safe and safe sounding top end. I have yet to tear into the transfer case but wanted to know if the posted top end of 60 in Hi Range is downhill with a wind behind my back? I thought that it should be possible to reach 50MPH and at least travel some 'main' roads, 35MPH kind of precludes that. Thanks in Advance.

Low range is only 1.98:1 or so. Which means it isn't that noticable at lower speeds that you are in low. Sure, it is half as fast, but unless you drive the truck a bunch, you won't notice the difference right off. The max speed for low/4th gear on the dash data plate is 35 mph. So, it is possible to go that fast and not blow things up.

If you still have the stock t-case shifters, you can not be in low 2wd. Therefore, if you were in 2wd, you were in hi gear.

The best way to check besides nosing the truck up to something un moveable and seeing which tires spin, is to have somebody move the shifters while you look at the t-case underneath. You could also mark out 100 yards or so, put the levers in what you think is hi or low, put the transmission in 1st, let the clutch out and keep both feet flat on the floor. Time your run. turn around, but the lever in the other t-case position and repeat. One or the other should take almost twice as long to travel. If not, then you are correct about being stuck in one of the two choices.