Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Weekend Project: Drivetrain Swap

Default Weekend Project: Drivetrain Swap

Everyone is going out of town for the holiday weekend except for me = 3 uninterupted days of work on the 715!

I'm pulling out the stock engine/tranny and replacing it with a sbc 350 and a rebuilt 2wd 700r4. I also have a np205 to install after I get through the engine/transmission.

I'm new to this and have a few questions.

I read on a previous post about using a CV joint to connect the transmission and the divorced transfer case. Are there any opinions on going this route vs. moving the engine/tranny forward and using the stock/modified jack shaft? If I do use a CV joint is there a specific car/application that I can get one from, or would I be calling a shop to special order one?

I have a bolt on engine mount kit. Any opinions on using this vs. the spicer plates (other than the cost difference)?

What is the best way to go about ensuring the engine/tranny is correctly lined up in the chassis and with the divorced transfer case?

Thank you for any and all help/opinions, it is greatly appreciated!

Jay

If you plan on taking out the fan schroud(sp?) Maddawg could use it/ buy it. I have yet to swap out my driveline so I can't answer your questions. Sorry.

Quote Originally Posted by gimpyrobb View Post
    If you plan on taking out the fan schroud(sp?) Maddawg could use it/ buy it. I have yet to swap out my driveline so I can't answer your questions. Sorry.
    Thanks, I'll keep that in mind although mine is missing a chunk on the drivers side. When I get everything out I'll take pictures and post on the for sale forum.

Jay I need the threaded rod that goes from the torque tube to the clutch fork, can I make you an offer on just that piece? And I have your tracings on the way.Thanks