Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pics of my completed E brake

Default Pics of my completed E brake

Hey all, sorry it's taken so long to complete this bit of the project but there were delays and more delays from the machine shop and waiting for parts etc.
    I finally got the ebrake done! Glad of it too! This has been one of the bigger PITA's so far for me. I had to come up with an idea and through looking comparing and much fabrication I arrived with this end result. Now once again I'd like to reiterate that I'm no design engineer nor have I got the one and only way to do this but it's what I did and I think it'll work, time will tell.

This first picture is of the relined brake band mounted to the foot piece which is mounted to the np205, the foot piece or base first had to be machined to fit the bearing extrusion. I doped it with "Mega-Black" and a paper seal and smoked it down onto the case. After relining the band with the brass rivets, I slid it onto the foot and that looks like this:

Next I ordered a flange with a 5 1/2" blank on the end from Tom Woods Custom Driveshafts in Ogden, Utah. It cost $80 and fit like a glove. I took it and the e brake drum down to the machine shop explained how I wanted it all to line up and they proceeded to drill several holes, surfaced a pilot into the backside of the flange just to keep the drum centered. It looks like this:

Last edited by brute4c; April 21st, 2007 at 03:37 AM. Reason: pic links

Default Okay heres some more

Another shot of the flange, come to find out a dodge 32 flange is the same as a gm 32 flange according to Tom Woods and my local driveshaft shop.

Next is a shot of the flange and drum installed:

Looks good except...I didn't allow space for the retaining nut on the output shaft where the ujoint flange bolts to the output flange so I had to get this spacer made out of 1/4" mild steel

So after all that was machined and fitted, it bolted all together and here it is: