Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Master Cylinder Replacement / Rebuild

Default Master Cylinder Replacement / Rebuild

I have a leaky master cylinder that needs replacing or rebuilding. Does anyone know of a civilian vehicle that used the same master cylinder? I would like to get the rebuild kit for that vehicle or just pick up a replacement. Any part numbers would be appreciated as well.

There is a civilian application...BUT:

If you go to Napa and ask for part number 21000 it is the very same master cylinder as the stock M715 one....then the bad news...

I have yet to find a rebuild kit or rebuilt master of this type...they are all NEW...price last I checked was $185 list, $109 retail....lets see if I can pull it up at the Napa site today:
    http://www.napaonline.com/MasterPages/NOLWelcome.aspx
    Search on non napa part number...last item on page 4 of the search results...even has a pic to show its the right one.

Heres the Napa number to enter so you can get just the right part to show:

UP 21000

Application in my notes from the trip to Napa show:

1966 Jeep Gladiator Pickup

I dont know if the mil surplus guys have a rebuild kit or not...but Napa doesnt...they dont even have a core charge on the master...since these arent rebuilt...

Do yourself and other people on the road a favor and go to a dual master. Kinda scary depending on a single master cylinder to stop the truck.

I went to a Cardone 10-1331 dual master - a few adapter pieces, and dual cylinder brakes.

The Cardone master cost me about $14.
    67 M725 67 M715 68 M715