Thread: Brake question

Default Brake question

When I'm going down a hill and I apply the brakes, it feels like the wheels lock up and I just slide. I'm new to drum brakes so I really don't have a clue what to look for.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I am going to ask a lot of questions so we can get a feel for what is going on.

Are the brakes stock, single master cylinder and drum brakes front and rear?

Are the wheel cylinders in good condition, not leaking on the shoes?

Good lining on the shoes, no metal to metal?

Are the rear locking up and not the front?

Sorry for the cross examination. Maybe we can get to the bottom of this problem. The M715 brake system is very basic and conventional.

Thanks!

There is a single m/c and from what I understand it is a stock system. I've only had the vehicle for a couple weeks and have not had any time to open the wheels up. Spent most of the two weeks just making sure it ran properly. Still very new to dealing with brakes and not sure I would know what to look for even if I did start looking at them.

Worst case scenario. The cylinders are all bad and say the lining needs to be replaced. Would it be easier/more economic to do a disc break conversion or to refurbish the original system? I'm not a purist, I would like to keep as much stock as possible but I also want dependable brakes.

There are differing opinions about this and that is not to say only one way is the best.