Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cummins swap, lift pump?

Default Cummins swap, lift pump?

For those who have done the 5.9 Cummins swap, is it a neccessity to install the lift pump as used on the original Dodge pickups?
    I am a diesel novice, please excuse my ignorance.

For those who have done the 5.9 Cummins swap, is it a neccessity to install the lift pump as used on the original Dodge pickups?
    I am a diesel novice, please excuse my ignorance.

Never done a cummins. But going with yes u need a lift pump. It doesn't have to be the stocker. You can add an electric pump on the frame near the tank or under hood if it can suck that far. Most electric pumps are pushers, not suckers. Be sure it meets the specs of the stock pump.

Definitely need a lift or transfer pump which they are sometimes called. I have installed a few by the name of raptor on factory dodge trucks that bolt onto the frame. Also a pressure warning light that goes into the factory filter housing is a good idea. The reason for the light is if your pressure gets low it will hurt your main high pressure pump. Plenty of aftermarket options for the pump and light.

Yes you need a lift pump. People use the aftermarket lift pumps on 24 valve (98.5-present) because the injection pumps are not mechanical. Under high fuel flow from a chip, the fuel pressure drops and the pump burns up. Also, fuel cools the electronic pumps.

There are 2 mechanical pumps. The VE (89-93) and P7100 or P pump (94-98). The VE pump is cooled with fuel as the electronic pump is. They use a diaphragm lift pump. They can be upgraded to a low pressure piston pump if you plan on adding power.

The p7100 is oil cooled. It is the work horse, makes the horsepower, etc. It uses a high pressure lift pump. For reference, I have a compounded Cummins in my 715. It will make about 500 horsepower give or take. It uses a stock lift pump.