Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fuel dumping out exhaust

Default Fuel dumping out exhaust

Gents,
    This is my first post so please bare with me. I am working on an all original M725 that is perfect shape! The only issue I am having is while the engine runs, it is dripping fuel out of the exhaust tail pipe and running very rich. Do I just need a carb rebuild or adjust my valves? Sometimes it smokes and sometimes it doesn't. Besides this it runs very well and idles smooth. Thanks for the help!

Tony DiMaiolo

First of all, welcome to the forum. I am sure you will find much useful information here.

OK, fuel out of the exhaust is an issue. Are you sure it is fuel and not oil? What color is the smoke, is it blue or black? Or is it white?

The Holley 1920 is a a very simple carburetor and is easy to rebuild. (Listen to me, like I am an expert... NOT!) But seriously, I have mine disassembled and in soak. They have rebuild kits for the carburetors and depending on whether you buy a Jeep kit or a Military kit, the one (military) has more parts and in my case was from 1978 so it is not ancient.

Is the engine misfiring; shaking? If you have a fouled plug from either excessive oil consumption or a rich mixture, you may foul a plug. When I was in the army in 1970, my M715 would foul plugs if I didn't run it hard. Valve seals no doubt. What I did was to take the dipstick, put a drop of oil on each runner of the exhaust manifold near the head and start the engine. The plug that was fouled would not burn off the oil immediately as would the running cylinders.

So, I guess if you are experiencing fuel running out of the exhaust, it should be puffing black smoke and fouling plugs.

Other members, please jump in here with your suggestions...

Fuel out the exhaust would mean that the fuel going into the cylinders is not burning right? Would a weak spark or low compression cause fuel to not burn?