Thread: Custom Front Spring Mounts

Default Custom Front Spring Mounts

I am mounting Chevy 3/4 ton front springs under my truck, moving the spring mounts under the frame, and putting the shackles to the rear of the spring. I am mounting the top of the spring shackle through the frame at the rear similar to Ryanroo's. I purchased some front spring mounts from Ruff Stuff Specialties.

My question is this: I would like to keep the front hangers as tight to the frame as possible, but if I do, the front spring eye will be higher than the rear. I looked on line for information on leaf spring geometry, but I am still not sure if it is OK to mount the front spring eye higher than the rear. There seems to be differences of opinions. I have things in place now (vice gripped in place) and it appears the caster would only be a couple of degrees from where it needs to be. I figured I could correct that with shims.

Anybody have some advice? I am new to much of this and I greatly appreciate all I have learned from reading everyone's posts. Thanks

Fred Wiliams from Peterson's 4wheel&offroad talks about that some in this article. Hope it helps.

http://www.4wheeloffroad.com/project...m37/index.html

Thanks Wrecker. I would guess if the problem in the rear would be oversteer, the problem in the front my result in understeer? There is a lot more science to leaf springs than I thought. One of the places I looked stated leaf springs in the front should be a little wider at the rear of the spring than the front of the springs. The information stated it improved the handling of the vehicle. Still not completely sure for the fronts.