Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Disc Brake Conversions

Default Disc Brake Conversions

Looking to hear from anyone who has installed the Ugly Truckling Disc Brake conversions on their M715? Any suggestions of what else I ought to service while I'm tore into the axles that far...kiss method, I'm not a mechanic by trade just by shade. This is my second Kaiser but my first was full mil spec...this one is far from original other than looks. Also looking for a steering dampener...what fits?...sits on stock rims with 38.5 Hummer knobbys.

Check and pack bearings races, you will have to do this anyways to the front while doing the disc. brake conversion. I recommend if you get into the kingpins on the top and lower knuckles you do not mix up the shim packs. Check to see if the top bushing and bottom coned roller bearings are happy and repack with clean grease, Again do not mix up the shim packs. Install the disc. brakes per their instructions. I did mine and some members said you should install the calipers on the front of the hub, I installed mine per the directions on the rear of the hub. There were no surprises other than me mixing up my shim packs on the knuckles. I also installed new felts and wipes for the backside of the closed knuckles. I did pull the axles and clean, put new grease and oil in the diffs and hubs. I also installed selectro lock outs on the front at the same time. I am very happy with the front discs. so far. For a steering stabilizer I just went with a pro comp unit that was for a FSJ. It fit and works fine. Good Luck.

I like fisherman installed the calipers to the back as per instructions but I think the m 715 is really to be installed to the front. I had to grind the housing for full wear movement of the (pad) slide. I don't mean to be a smart azz but reconsider putting any $ into those stockers. You' re better off with a big brake 44. (if I knew then what I know now I wouldn't have gone there). If you havn't purchased the kit yet that is.