Thread: It's on the shelf...

Default It's on the shelf...

I've been taking a perverse pleasure lately in my last couple of projects. Namely the capability to start and COMPLETE a project with stuff I have on hand, no/or very small trips to the parts or hardware store! A little background may be in order here...

I've been building jeeps of one sort or another since about 1999. Along the way I've started accumulating parts for several projects. The last big parts buying spree I had was when I bought a Scrambler and was planning on doing a complete frame-off. Many of those parts were re-purposed to my M-715 (the steering box, shaft, and such). Many have sat on the shelf for a NUMBER of years as I've gone through other projects like building a nicer shop to work in, etc.

Within about the last month or so, I've had some GREAT luck cleaning off the shelves and getting some projects on the truck.

A couple of examples:

1) Built an entire cage out of what I had on my steel rack. I've had some of that stuff in storage for a while. The last time I bought tube to bend, I was paying $1.75 per foot for 1.75" DOM, it's now over $4/foot! Now I'm trying to figure out what else I need to build to clear off that rack and regain some space (hence the tube fender thread). It was also really nice to have all the brackets/tabs ON THE SHELF from the last cage I built. Also had the stock TJ seatbelts I'd been hording for a while handy to use. Total outlay for the project: $40 for some Copperhead Fabrication corner gussets.

2) Rear wheel leaking: my 14-bolt has been leaking on the driver's side since the 1st drive. R&R'd the hub, new seals, no leaks... Had the seals ON THE SHELF.